News Centre

Final team places booked for Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games

Wednesday 22 January

2020 ITTF World Team Qualification Tournament

Gondomar, Portugal

Wednesday 22nd – Sunday 26th January


Final team places booked for Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games


China and Japan already qualified in both the men’s team and women’s team events for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games; on Sunday 26th January, Chinese Taipei, Hong Kong China and Korea Republic added their names to the list, as in the women’s competition did DPR Korea and Singapore.



All emerged successful at the ITTF World Team Qualification Tournament in Gondomar, Portugal; an event in which nine places were available, in addition two members of each of the successful teams being eligible to compete in the respective singles events.


In both the men’s and women’s events in Gondomar, Chinese Taipei progressed without a hitch. In the men’s event, the no.2 seeds, selecting throughout Chen Chien-An, Chuang Chih-Yuan and Lin Yun-Ju, a 3-0 win was posted against the no.28 seeds, Thailand’s Supanut Wisutmaythangkoon, Yanapong Panagitgun and Padasak Tanviriyavechakul, before the same margin of victory was secured in opposition to the no.23 seeds, Poland’s Samuel Kulczycki, Marek Badowski and Jakub Dyjas.


Comfortable for the men, it was the same for the women, in fact even more comfortable. Likewise the no.2 seeds,. Only one fixture required, a 3-0 win was the outcome for Cheng I-Ching, Chen Szu-Yu and Cheng Hsien-Tzu in opposition to the no.18 seeds, the French trio formed by Stéphanie Loeuillette, Yuan Ji Nan and Marie Migot.


Rather differently for Korea Republic, it was different journeys. The top seeds in the men’s event, selecting Jeoung Youngsik, Lee Sangsu and Jang Woojin for both contests, a 3-0 win was recorded against the no.19 seeds, the Russian combination of Vladimir Sidorenko, Kirill Skachkov and Alexander Shibaev, prior to the same margin of victory being recorded in opposition to the no.16 seeds, the Czech Republic’s Tomas Polansky, Pavel Sirucek and Lubomir Jancarik.


Somewhat differently in the women’s event, the no.4 seeds, selecting Shin Yubin and Choi Hyojoo from start to finish, the one further place being taken by either Suh Hyowon or Lee Eunhye, a 3-0 win was secured against the no.30 seeds, Lithuania’s Vitalija Venckute, Ugne Baskutyte and Kornelkija Riliskyte. An opening success, in the next contest it was a 3-1 defeat at the hands of the no.10 seeds, the DPR Korea combination of Kim Nam Hae, Cha Hyo Sim and Kim Song I.

Earlier fielding the same trio, DPR Korea had secured a 3-0 opening round win in opposition to the no.29 seeds, Malaysia’s Tee Ai Xin, Ho Ying and Alice Chang Li Sian.


The effect for Korea Republic was that they advanced to the second stage where they played for the one remaining place.


Responding to the occasion, they recorded a 3-0 win against the no.9 seeds, Ukraine’s Tetyana Bilenko, Ganna Gaponova and Margaryta Pesotska, before achieving the same margin of victory in opposition to the no.14 seeds, Spain’s Ana Garcia, Galia Dvorak and Maria Xiao.


A place in the final booked, the good form continued, with Lee Eunhye preferred to Suh Hyowon, a 3-1 win was recorded against France, who as in opposition earlier to Chinese Taipei, fielded Stéphanie Loeuillette, Yuan Ji Nan and Marie Migot. Notably throughout, only 15 years old, Shin Yubin remained unbeaten in her singles matches.


ATTU supported by