News Centre

Ellen Lee Geck Hoon elected for fourth term

Sunday 27 September

Ellen Lee Geck Hoon elected for fourth term


The incumbent President Ellen Lee Geck Hoon JP, PBM, will lead the of the Singapore Table Tennis Association for a fourth and final term


She was re-elected on Saturday 26th September.


“I am extremely honoured to be re-elected as the STTA President for another term.  I would like to thank our members for placing their trust and confidence in me.  


My term as President for the past years has been a very busy and fruitful one. I would like to thank my Management Committee Members who have worked endlessly and tirelessly for this Association; their contributions and support to the Association are deeply appreciated. I would like to take this opportunity to express my special thanks to our former Management Committee Members who have stepped down. They have selflessly and tirelessly given their precious time and resources to STTA.  Although they will no longer serve in the Management Committee, I am confident that they will continue to serve STTA in other capacities. 


“I strongly believe that my newly elected Management Committee is a credible team which has a lot of passion for table tennis and strive to do nothing but the best for Singapore’s table tennis sport.  I am very happy that the several new members joining us in this new term will bring in fresh perspectives and ideas for the betterment of STTA.


With the plans and proposals my team has planned, I believe that the table tennis sport will attract more new players, more fans and ease of communications to spread news quickly.


We are very excited about the opportunities ahead of us and we look forward to bring more sporting glory for Singapore.’’  Ellen Lee Geck Hoon


New elected Ms Poh Li San was equally positive.


  “It is with great pleasure that I am being elected as the Deputy President of STTA.  I will do my best to serve the table tennis fraternity and I look forward to working with Ellen and other Management Committee Members for the development of the sport.” Poh Li San


Furthermore, Ellen Lee Geck Hoon detailed a post COVID-19 strategy:

  • Grooming many more of our local talents to represent Singapore at major Games.  Our plans to groom more local talents into world class athletes is starting to bear fruit.  
  • Enhance our communications with our athletes and parents.  One new initiative will include the introduction of the STTA APP.  The STTA APP will allow us to send notifications in the shortest time to our athletes and their parents.
  • Enhance our governance compliance with policy rules and maintaining as efficient an approach as possible. 


Seven new members join the 12 strong management committee:

  • Deputy President:  Ms Poh Li San, Member of Parliament for Sembawang GRC
  • Vice Presidents: Mr Chua Kok Wei JP, PBM  and Mr Eldwin Wong
  • Assistant Honorary Secretary:  Mr Goh Miao Guang
  • Members: Mr Alvin Toh, Ms Jacqueline Woo and Ms Eva Grace


Stepping down from their former positions are:

  • Deputy Presidents: Mr Alex Yam and Mr Soon Min Sin, PBM,
  • Vice President: Mr Lim Soon Hock, BBM,
  • Honorary Treasurer: Mr Jack Soh JP, BBM (L),
  • Members:  Mr Alan Goh and Ms Lee Yan Peng, PBM


A total of 19 members were elected to the Management Committee from 2020 to 2022:


President                            Ellen Lee Geck Hoon JP, PBM     

Deputy President              Poh Li San            

Deputy President              Teo Nam Meng 

Vice President                   Eldwin Wong Yuan Jun

Vice President                   Chua Kok Wei JP, PBM

Vice President                   Han Ngge Juan

Hon. Secretary                  Ho Kok Khun, PBM

Asst. Hon. Secretary        Goh Miao Guang

Hon. Treasurer                  Lee Yew Chye Jeffrey

Asst. Hon. Treasurer        Jeffrey Ng Boo Wui

Member                             Pang Tow Chai Richard 

Member                             Lee Seng Ken, PBM          

Member                             Tan Yan Boon, PBM         

Member                             Toh Hock Pang, Alvin        

Member                             Lau Pub Taai, PBS, BBM                  

Member                             Tang Mun Fai     

Member                             Eva Grace L Ong                   

Member                             Woo Yoke Lan Jacqueline            

Member                             Stanley Cornelius            


Editor: Ian Marshall

ATTU supported by