News Centre

Match Wu Yang, the task in Weihai

Tuesday 13 October

Match Wu Yang, the task in Weihai


The task is to match China’s Wu Yang; such is the goal for Korea Republic’s Suh Hyowon and Germany’s Han Ying at the forthcoming Women’s World Cup.


Play commences in the three day tournament in Weihai on Sunday 8th November.


Crowned world junior champion in the northern Colombian city of Cartagena de Indias in 2009, three times the women’s singles winner on the ITTF World Tour, Wu Yang is the only defensive player ever to have gained a place on the podium at a Women’s World Cup tournament.


In 2013 in Kobe, she finished in first position in her group ahead of Hong Kong’s Jiang Huajun and Japan’s Sayaka Hirano prior to ousting Ai Fukuhara, also from Japan and Singapore’s Feng Tianwei to reach the final. In the title decider, the sheer consistency of colleague, Liu Shiwen ended progress.


Runners up spot for Wu Yang, very much a step ahead of all other backspin players who have competed in the Women’s World Cup; no other defensive player has ever advanced beyond the last eight.


Notably Korea Republic’s Kim Kyungah made eight appearances, she reached the quarter-final round on no less than seven occasions; she is somewhat the role model for Suh Hyowon.


Kim Kyungah

……….2003 Hong Kong – lost to Zhang Yining (China)

……….2004 Xiaoshan – lost to Zhang Yining (China)

……….2006 Urumqi – lost to Li Jiawei (Singapore)

……….2008 Kuala Kumpur – lost to Tie Yana (Hong Kong)

……….2009 Guangzhou – lost to Liu Shiwen (China)

……….2010 Kuala Lumpur – lost to Jiang Huajun (Hong Kong)

……….2011 Singapore – lost to Ding Ning (China)


Several other defenders have reached the last eight but not progressed beyond


Park Miyoung (Korea Republic)

………2009 Guangzhou – lost to Feng Tianwei (Singapore)

………2010 Kuala Lumpur – lost to Guo Yue (China)


Jie Schöpp (Germany)

……….1997 Shanghai – lost to Wang Nan (China)


Jian Tian-Zörner (Germany)

……….1998 Taipei City – lost to Li Ju (China).


Li Jie (Netherlands)

……….2017 Markham – lost Zhu Yuling


Suh Hyowon (Korea Republic)

……….2018 Chengdu – lost Ding Ning


Viktoria Pavlovich (Belarus)

……….2004 Xiaoshan – lost to Li Jia Wei (Singapore)

……….2006 Urumqi – lost to Zhang Yining (China)

……….2012 Huangshi – lost to Elizabeta Samara (Romania)


Consider the list, Viktoria Pavlovich is the odd one out; not because she is the only defender born outside Asia to reach a Women’s World Cup quarter-final but because her defeat at the hands of Elizabeta Samara in 2012 in Huangshi means she is the only defender to reach the quarter-finals and not lose to a player who was born in China!


Thus there is a clear message for Suh Hyowon and Han Ying at the 2020 Women’s World Cup if a podium place is to be achieved; avoid Chen Meng, Sun Yingsha and Feng Tianwei!

ATTU supported by