Asian Table Tennis Union


News Centre

〈 Back

Conclusion-Asian Youth Olympic Games Qualification

Asian Youth Olympic Games Qualification

Sunday 5th November


Buenos Aires invitations reserved in style

Eight players, four young men and four young ladies stood out when the entry list was announced for the Buenos Aires 2018 Youth Olympic Games Asian Qualification Tournament set to be staged in the Indian city of Greater Noida.

At the close of play on Sunday 5th November, those names could look forward to visiting the capital Argentina in just under one year’s time.

It was success for Japan in the guise of Tomokazu Harimoto and Miu Hirano, for China Wang Chuqin and Sun Yingsha prevailed, whilst Chinese Taipei’s Lin Yu-Ju and Su Pei-Ling emerged successful. Additionally to complete the list, Korea’s Cho Daeseong and Thailand’s Jinippa Sawettabut joined the party.

Each had remained unbeaten on the opening two days of play, each had one match to complete on the concluding day of action, each succeeded in style.

In the Men’s Singles event Tomokazu Harimoto, the top seed, beat Thailand’s Yanapong Panagitgun (8-11, 11-7, 11-3, 11-2, 11-9), Lin Yun-Ju, the no.2 seed, accounted for Jann Mari Nayre of the Philippines (11-3, 11-2, 11-4, 11-6).

Impressive wins, it was the same from Wang Chuqin, the no.3 seed, he beat the host nation’s Manav Vikash Thakkar (11-3, 11-5, 11-4, 11-8), whilst not to be upstaged Cho Daeseong was equally relentless; he defeated Iran’s Amin Ahmadian (11-9, 8-11, 11-7, 11-5, 11-3).

No contest extended beyond five games in the decisive concluding matches in the Men’s Singles event; it was the very same in the counterpart Women’s Singles competition.

Miu Hirano, the top seed, beat Malaysia’s Karen Lyne (11-5, 11-4, 11-3, 11-4), Sun Yingsha, the no.2 seed, overcame Kazakhstan’s Zauresh Akasheva (11-6, 11-3, 11-4, 11-2). Similarly, Jinnipa Sawettabut, the no.3 seed, emerged successful in opposition to Hong Kong’s Chau Wing Sze (12-10, 11-7, 9-11, 11-5, 11-9), whilst Su Pei-Ling, the no.4 seed, dented Indian hopes by beating Archana Girish Kamath (12-14, 11-3, 10-12, 11-8, 11-8, 11-4).

Meanwhile, in the contests to decide the first reserve positions, in the Men’s event, Manav Vikash Thakkar beat Jann Mari Nayre (11-3, 11-2, 11-4, 11-6); in the Women’s competition, Archana Girish Kamath accounted for Chau Wing Sze (12-14, 11-3, 10-12, 11-8, 11-8, 11-4).



Continental Tournaments – Qualifiers (as on Sunday 5th November)


Africa: Youssef Abdel Aziz (Egypt), Nathael Hamdoun (Tunisia)

Asia: Tomokazu Harimoto (Japan), Lin Yun-Ju (Chinese Taipei), Wang Chuqin (China), Cho Daeseong (Korea)

Europe: Ioannis Sgouropoulos (Greece), Vladimir Sidorenko (Russia), Medardas Stankievicius (Lithuania), Vladislav Urdu (Moldova)

Latin America: Nicolas Burgos (Chile), Guillerme Teodoro (Brazil)


Africa: Esther Oribamise (Nigeria), Marwa Alhodaby (Egypt)

Asia: Miu Hirano (Japan), Su Pei-Ling (China), Jinnipa Sawettabut (Thailand), Su Pei-Ling (Chinese Taipei)

Europe: Lucie Gauthier (France), Mariia Tailakova (Russia), Ning Jing (Azerbaijan), Nadezhda Bogdanova (Belarus)

Latin America: Adriana Diaz (Puerto Rico), Bruna Takahashi (Brazil)