News Centre

No rest, Fan Zhendong and Chen Meng head seeding in Zhengzhou

Wednesday 18 November

No rest, Fan Zhendong and Chen Meng head seeding in Zhengzhou


A break of three days; it’s back to international action. Once again the spotlight shines on Fan Zhendong and Chen Meng, the respective winners of the recently concluded Men’s and Women’s World Cup tournaments supported by Dishang.

They are the top seeds in the Bank of Communications 2020 ITTF Finals; play  commencing in the Chinese city of Zhengzhou on Thursday 19th November and concluding on Sunday 22nd November.

Based on the positions on the April 2020 world rankings, the most recent published before COVID-19 caused a halt to international play, the leading 16 players, with a proviso of four per national association, have been invited.


Many of the names who were on World Cup duty are present; notably the medallists in both events appear on the entry list. Ma Long and Japan’s Tomokazu Harimoto are on the men’s register; likewise for the women, Sun Yingsha and Mima Ito both compete.


Notably for the host nation there is the full complement of players. Xu Xin and Lin Gaoyuan join Fan Zhendong and Ma Long; Sun Yingsha, Wang Manyu and Wang Yidi line up alongside Chen Meng.

Add Lin Yun-Ju, Koki Niwa, Jeoung Youngsik and Jang Woojin, the fourth place finisher in the Dishang 2020 Men’s World Cup to the list, the entry from Asia is prodigious.\


Likewise for the women, Cheng I-Ching, Feng Tianwei, Kasumi Ishikawa and Doo Hoi Kem all compete as do Jeon Jihee, Hitomi Sato, Miyu Kato and Suh Hyowon. It is a most enticing array of talent.

Prominent names but there can be no complacency. In the men’s event Hugo Calderano heads the Pan American challenge, for Africa, Quadri Aruna is named; for Europe Dimitrij Ovtcharov, Liam Pitchford, Patrick Franziska form the challenge.


Meanwhile, for the women, Sofia Polcanova and Petrissa Solja fly the flag for Europe as for the Americas does Adriana Diaz.


Added to the no room for complacency factor, is the need to being in form from the start; there are just two events – men’s singles, women’s singles. Moreover, the formula is straight knock-out, each match best of seven games.


The margins are minimal; pertinently there are no second chances.


Entry - Men

1. Fan Zhendong (CHN)

2. Xu Xin (CHN)

3. Ma Long (CHN) 

4. Tomokazu Harimoto (JPN)

5. Lin Gaoyuan (CHN)    

6. Hugo Calderano (BRA)        

7. Lin Yun-Ju (TPE)        

8. Mattias Falck (SWE)   

9. Dimitrij Ovtcharov (GER)     

10. Koki Niwa (JPN)

11. Jeoung Youngsik (KOR)     

12. Liam Pitchford (ENG)

13. Patrick Franziska (GER)     

14. Jang Woojin (KOR)   

15. Simon Gauzy (FRA)  

16. Quadri Aruna (NGR) 


Entry – Women

1. Chen Meng (CHN)

2. Mima Ito (JPN)

3. Sun Yingsha (CHN)

4. Wang Manyu (CHN)

5. Cheng I-Ching (TPE)

6. Feng Tianwei (SGP)

7. Kasumi Ishikawa (JPN)

8. Wang Yidi (CHN)

9. Sofia Polcanova (AUT)

10. Doo Hoi Kem (HKG)

11. Jeon Jihee (KOR)

12. Hitomi Sato (JPN)

13. Adriana Diaz (PUR)

14. Petrissa Solja (GER)

15. Miyu Kato (JPN)

16. Suh Hyowon (KOR)


Editor: Ian Marshall

ATTU supported by