News Centre

Double Titles for Senura Silva and Bimandee Bandara of Sri Lanka

Saturday 17 April

The Western Province Table Tennis Association conducted the All Island Under 15 and Under 18 Ranking tournament at S.Thomas Indoor Stadium on the 10th of April 2021. These age group segment were to be held previously alongside with the Open Mens and Womens tournament in February but were postponed due to the safety concerns. This tournament is approved by the Table Tennis Association of Sri Lanka and is an annual held event listed in the TTASL tournament calendar. 


Due to Covid 19, the Table Tennis Association of Sri Lanka and its affiliated clubs could not conduct tournaments during 2020. Still within the 2020 tournament Calendar and being only the 2nd ranking event held so far for the under 15 and 18 age groups, the under 15 boys segment attracted 71 players whilst 53 players competed in the girls category. In the under 18 boys age group saw a lineup of 58 players and 44 players in the girls Under 18 category. All matches were keenly competed by players trying their best to outperform their opponents in the qualification stages to reach the main draw. 

In the boys under 15 event quarter finals; Senura Silva (Ananda College) bt Hareen Nimdinu (Dharmashoka Ambalangoda) 11/5,11/5,11/5, Janith Batugedara (Royal College) bt Kakeru Hennayaka (Ananda College) 11/8,11/7,11/7, Dewmath Weerasena (Lyceum Nugegoda) bt Haseera Dinusara (Dharmashoka Ambalangoda) 11/9,12/10,11/9, Akesh Dimantha (Vidyartha Kandy) bt Vinuka Gunawardena (Royal College) 11/8,11/8,11/6. 


At the semifinals Senura Silva bt Janith Batugedara 11/5,11/6/11/6, Akesh Dimantha bt Dewmath Weerasena 11/8,11/7,13/11. The Finals was contested between Senura Silva and Akesh Dimantha where Senura bt Akesh 13/10,11/9,11/6 to be the boys under 15 champion. 


In the Girls under 15 event, the following players competed in the Quarter finals; Bimandee Bandara (Hillwood Kandy) bt Shenali Mendis (Musaeus College) 11/5,11/3,11/3, Heshi Nirmi (Prajapathi Ambalangoda) bt Sandithie Jayasinghe (Musaeus College)11/9. 11/7, 14/16, 12/10, Nadithi Rehansa (Prajapathi Ambalangoda) bt Minna Hassim (Ladies College) 13/11,10/12,11/4,11/9, Oneli Lehansa (Musaeus College) bt Lesanya Sethumdee (Dharmashoka Ambalangoda) 11/3,11/7,11/8. 


At the semifinals Bimandee Bandara bt Heshi Nirmi 11/5,11/7,11/7 and Oneli Lehansa bt Nadithi Rehansa 9/11,6/11,13/11,13/11,11/3. In the Finals Bimandee Bandara bt Oneli Lehansa 11/3,11/3,11/5 to become the Under 15 Girls Champion. 


In the boys under 18 competition quarter finals; Senura Silva (Ananda College) bt Chanul Dulshen (Dharmashoka Ambalangoda) 11/5,11/7,11/7, Thisas Ranchagoda (Royal College) bt Yasiru Maleesha (Vidyartha Kandy), Chandupa Alahkoon (Kingswood Kandy) bt Hasitha Udara (Kingswood Kandy) 13/11,6/11,12/10,12/10 and Dhanushka Wijesinghe (Kingswood Kandy) bt Hiruna Warasuwithana (Ananda College). 

At the Semi Finals Senura Silva bt Thisas Ranchagoda 11/4,11/13,11/7,11/3 and Chandupa Alahakoon bt Dhanushka Wijesinghe 10/12,11/9,11/9,11/6. In an entertaining final that went on to all 5 sets, Senura Silva bt Chandupa Alahakoon 5/11,15/13,11/6,3/11,11/7 to bag a double title


Boys Under 18 and Under 15 winner Senura Receiving His Trophy from the Chief Guest Mr. Yohan Deshappriya. 


In the Girls Under 18 category, the quarter finals were contested by Bimandee Bandara (Hilwood Kandy) Ayla Chitty (ladies College), maneesha Shalindi (Dharmashoka Ambalangoda) bt Heshi Nirmi (Pajapathi Ambalangoda) 11/7,11/5,11/7, M.H.K Kavindi (Dharmashoka Ambalangoda) bt Nadithi Rehansa (Prajapathi Ambalangoda) 13/11,11/8,12/10,11/13,11/8, Jithara Warnakulasuriya (Ladies College) bt Sanduni Prabuddhika (Dharmashoka Ambalangoda) 


At the Semi Finals, Bimandee Bandara bt Maneesha Shalindi 11/7,11/5, 11/7 and Jithara Warnakulasuriya bt M.H.K Kavindi 6/11,11/7,7/11,13/11,11/8. In the all important girls finals Bimandee Bandara bt Jithara Warnakulasuriya 11/8,11/6,13/11 to clinch the girls under 18 championships and clinch a double


Girls Under 18 and Under 15 winner Bimandee Receiving Her Trophy from the Chief Guest Mr. Yohan Deshappriya. 


Mr. Yohan Deshappriya, a former national player was the chief guest and distributed all certificates to the quarter finalist onwards and trophies to the semi finalists, runners up and champions. 


Double title winners Senura Silva and Bimandee Bandara Receiving with their Trophies 



Tournament Organizing Committee and TTASL Officials with the champions and runners up.


Standing from left to right; Akesh Dimantha (Boys U15 Runner up), Senura Silva (Champion Boys U15 and U18), Chandupa Alahakoon (Boys U18 Runner up),Bimandee Bandara (Champion Girls U15 and U18) Oneli Lehansa (Girlss U15 Runner up) Jithara Warnakulasuriya (Girlss U18 Runner up)


Seated from Left to right: Madushani Perera (TTASL VP Tournament Committee), Srinath Wijayagunaratne (TTASL General Secretary). Yohan Deshappriya (Chief Guest), DMGS Kumara (Tournament Committee member), Prabath (Chief Referee), Reza Latiff (WPTTA Tournament Committee Chairman)



T. Reza Latiff 

Chairman – WPTTA Tournament Committee 

ATTU supported by