News Centre

Hina Hayata in form, leads Japan in Doha

Tuesday 28 September

Winner of the women’s singles title at the recently concluded WTT Star Contender Doha 2021 tournament, Hina Hayata leads Japan in the ensuing ITTF-ATTU 2021 Asian Championships; staged in the same venue, the Lusail Sports Arena, team events commence proceedings.

Hina Hayata vital for Japanese success

Occupying the top seeded position, Hitomi Sato, Saki Shibata, Miyu Nagasaki and Minami Ando complete the line-up.

Meanwhile in the men’s team event, the Korea Republic heads the order, Jang Woojin joins forces with An Jaehyun, Lim Jonghoon, Cho Seungmin and Lee Sangsu.

In each of the men’s team and women’s team events, there are two divisions, the Championship Division and the First Division.

Teams in the First Division compete initially on a group basis, those securing first positions in each group advance to a progressive knock-out stage; the finalists join the six seeded teams in the Championship Division.

The top six teams from Yogyakarta gain direct entry to the Championship Division:

  • Men: China, Korea Republic, Japan, Chinese Taipei, India and Hong Kong
  • Women: China, Japan, Singapore, Chinese Taipei, DPR Korea and Thailand

However, China and DPR Korea do not compete in Doha.

Therefore, Iran, the seventh place team in Yogyakarta gains direct entry to the Men’s Championship Division. In the women’s event the seventh and eighth placed teams advance directly, Korea Republic and Hong Kong.

Hence, the six direct entries are:

  • Men: Korea Republic, Japan, Chinese Taipei, India, Kong Kong and Iran
  • Women: Japan, Singapore, Chinese Taipei, DPR Korea, Thailand, Korea Republic and Hong Kong

The quarter-final draw is as follows:


  • Korea Republic v Hong Kong
  • Iran v India
  • Japan v Division One Qualifier
  • Chinese Taipei v Division One Qualifier



  • Japan v Division One Qualifier
  • Hong Kong v Chinese Taipei
  • Thailand v Korea Republic
  • Singapore v Division One Qualifier


Play in the team events concludes on Friday 1st October

Editor: Ian Marshall

ATTU supported by