News Centre

Khalil Al-Mohannadi assumes office; elected unopposed as President of Asian Table Tennis Union

Monday 04 October

Unopposed, at the Biennial General Meeting, staged in Doha on Sunday 3rd October, Khalil Al-Mohannadi was elected President of the Asian Table Tennis Union.

Khalil Al Mohannadi, the newly elected President of the Asian Table Tennis Union

Presently, Deputy President of the International Table Tennis Federation, a member of recently formed World Table Tennis Board and President of the Qatar Table Tennis Association, he becomes the sixth President of the Asian Table Tennis Union.

Now approaching 50 years since formation, Khali Al Mohannadi becomes the first to hold the office not from the far east.

He follows Japan’s Rizo Kawakami (1972-1974), Hisao Kido (1974-1976) and Atsushi Goto (1976-2001) who were succeeded by China’s Li Furong (2001-2009) and Cai Zhenhua (2009–2021).

Notably, the election marks two decades of loyal service to the Asian Table Tennis Union.

Khalil Al Mohannadi was elected Deputy President in 2001, a position he held until 2003 and then reassumed in 2009, a role fulfilled until the present day.

It is under his leadership that Qatar has become a favoured destination for major international tournaments.

The Qatar Open was first staged in 1994, a second edition in 1996. In 1997 the tournament joined the ITTF World Tour.

Overall, concluding in 2020, a total of 22 editions were staged, Doha becoming the most popular destination of all.

Additionally, Doha was the destination for the Asian Championships in 2000, the World Team Championships in 2004, as well as the ITTF Star Awards Evening and ITTF World Tour Grand Finals in 2016.

More recently in September, Doha hosted the WTT Star Contender tournament and is the current home for the 2021 ITTF-ATTU Asian Championships.

The entire Executive Committee of the Asian Table Tennis Union was elected unopposed:

President: Khalil Al Mohannadi (QAT)

Deputy Presidents: Kim Taeksoo (KOR), Xu Xin (CHN)

Secretary-General: Afshin Badiee (IRI)

Treasurer: Mohamed Baqir Sajad (OMA)

Editor: Ian Marshall

ATTU supported by