News Centre

China imperious, winners for tenth time

Thursday 30 August


Sunday 26th August - Saturday 1st September


China imperious, winners for tenth time

Gold medallists four years ago in Incheon, China retained their respective Men’s Team and Women’s Team titles at the 2018 Asian Games in Jakarta, Indonesia on the evening of Tuesday 29th August.


The top seeds in both disciplines; three matches to nil wins were the order of the day in both finals as Korea Republic and DRP Korea experienced defeats.

Members of the winning outfit Incheon, Chen Meng and Zhu Yuling joined forces with debutant Wang Manyu for the contest against DPR Korea, the no.8 seeds. Chen Xingtong and Sun Yingsha were resigned to the bench.


Most imposing, Zhu Yuling gave her team the perfect start by overcoming the backspin skills of Kim Song I (11-9, 11-8, 11-6), before Chen Meng accounted for Cha Hyo Sim (11-6, 11-8, 14-12) and Wang Manyu completed to victory by recovering from an opening game deficit to beat Kim Nam He (8-11, 11-5, 11-4, 11-7).

“We are very happy with the victory! I played the third match in the last edition of the Asian Games in Incheon and today I played first. I was able to win the first point for our team, it’s definitely not easy. I was able to set my mentality right in the match, playing calmly and patiently against a defender; that was a key. I think unity is also crucial for our team victory today, all five of us are close in age and it’s easier to communicate between us and co-operate with our coach”, said Zhu Yuling


A good start for China in the Women’s Team final; in the Men’s Team final it was Liu Gaoyang who set China on the road to victory against Korea Republic, the no.3 seeds. At full speed he beat Lee Sangsu (11-3, 11-3, 11-2) before Fan Zhendong doubled the lead by overcoming Jeoung Youngsik (10.12, 11-8, 11-8, 11-7).

“We came into the final well prepared. I was ready for any difficulties coming my way in the match. So I played well in my match against Lee Sangsu and was able to take control of the entire match over him”, explained a delighted Lin Gaoyuan


Impressive from Lin Gaoyuan and Fan Zhendong, matters concluded with Wang Chuqin, who at the semi-final stage against Chinese Taipei had lost to Lin Yun-Ju, beating Jang Woojin (13-11, 7-11, 11-9 11-6) to secure the title.


“After the semi-finals loss, I was devastated. Luckily my team motivated me and gave me the power to fight in the final. I was able to give in everything in the match,” reflected Wang Chuqin


Thus for each team it meant the title had been secured ten times; the first time for each team was in 1974 in Tehran. On that occasion for the men, the line-up read Li Zhenshi, Liang Geliang, Xi Enting and Xi Shaofa; for the women it was Hu Yulan, Zhang Li and Zheng Huaiying.


ATTU supported by